REVIEW: Benefit Sun Beam

IMG_3292

What it is:
A golden bronze complexion highlighter.

What it does:
Consider this liquid sunshine in a bottle. This golden bronze highlighter gives you a natural, sunkissed radiance. Dot and blend over makeup onto cheek and browbones for a bronzed glow that complements all skintones.

Truthfully, I’ve never been one for bronzer. I don’t own one and I don’t even know how to contour. I know, I know. It seems like to be a makeup b/vlogger, it’s a requirement to know how to contour, but I don’t know how. I’d like to try, but I’ve yet to get around to it since it’s at the back of my mind. Also, I feel like the colour of bronzer just wouldn’t look good on me.

I’ve seen people go on and on about how Sun Beam is this great product, but I never wanted to get it because I didn’t think it would look good. I thought it would be too dark for my light skin, too orange. Then my friend, Caroline, gave me a little size of this as a gift and I figured why not try it out then.

IMG_3296

Sun Beam is definitely a warm, golden bronze shade, but it isn’t as dark as I was expecting it to be once blended into the skin. I’m about NC/W20 (well, that would be my guess) and it doesn’t look orange on me at all, as I was expecting. It leaves a really nice sheen on the skin and doesn’t look too “overpowering”, if you’re someone that doesn’t want to look like a disco ball.

tumblr_my0qq919Aq1rfhofoo1_1280

This is me wearing Sun Beam on my cheekbones with MAC Mineralized Blush in Dainty and Buxom True Hue Blush in Temptation. As you can see, it’s not an overwhelming product.

Since I have dry skin, I like to apply this with my fingers instead of with a brush, since that can make the product look streaky and a little more powdery than if I were to just use my hands to warm up the product.

As much as I think this is a good product and I’ve enjoyed it more than I thought I would, would I buy the full size product? Probably not. It’s not something I use everyday and feel like I need to use it everyday. I still favour beige highlighters and illuminzers over bronze.

If you have this product, I’d love to know what you think about it. Just let me know in the comments!

One thought on “REVIEW: Benefit Sun Beam

Leave a Reply

