REVIEW: Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer – Aurora

IMG_3344I received this item in my Vox Box from Influenster. Expect an honest opinion from me.

I’m not sure how we’re supposed to go about reviewing items from an Influenster box since this is my first time receiving one. Do we review everything in one post? Make separate posts? Only review what you care about? I’m not sure, but I guess we’ll figure it out after this post gets published.

Lipstick/lipgloss hybrids, also known as liquid lip colours or liquid lipsticks have been the new “thing” in the makeup world lately. I’ve seen them from many different brands like Kat Von D, Maybelline, now Rimmel has come out with their own line. These are just a few brands from the many out there that have released this kind of product.

FYI, in the UK, these are called Apocalips while in the US, they’re called Show Off Lip Lacquers, so keep that in mind when you’re browsing your drugstores for this product!

IMG_3417

Rimmel claims that this has “the intense rich colour of a lipstick, enhanced by a satin smooth shine”. This comes in thirteen shades and the shade that was put into my box was Aurora, a deep kinda sorta not quite there coral shade.

People have been comparing these to OCC Lip Tars and I’m not quite understanding the comparison here. Maybe it could be compared to the stain gloss, but not the original matte lip tars. These are not pigmented like a lipstick, only like a lipgloss that isn’t formulated to be sheer. The consistency stays as a lipgloss too. They do not dry down too much, only a little bit, and they don’t wear nearly as long. I found myself reapplying three times in just a few hours.

With that being said, what makes them better than the OCC Lip Tars is how comfortable they are. They are much more comfortable to wear than the OCC Lip Tars since they don’t have the long lasting formula that makes them drying.

In general, I really don’t understand the comparison.

The Show Off Lip Lacquer isn’t a terrible product by any means and I don’t know if I would go and buy one for myself. I like the colour and the actual product just fine, but it isn’t something that really makes me excited when I pull it out.

RELATED QUESTION: Have you tried these out yet? How do you feel about them?

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer – Aurora

  1. I think these are good quality products but I hated them, sadly. But there’s a reason. 1) People said they were liquid lipsticks, they’re not. Like you said, they don’t dry matte. So that threw me off right away, they weren’t what I wanted. 2) I don’t like lip gloss. So imagine, the slipperiness/messiness of lip gloss with the opaqueness of a lipstick. Eek. Recipe for disaster in terms of smearing, getting on your face on windy days, going on your teeth on a night out, etc.

    • Same! Was also under the impression that they were liquid lipsticks that, even if they weren’t matte, were at least going to dry down instead of being liquidy lipgloss. Definitely not the case.

  2. I didn’t even get one of these after all the hype because I knew I would never use them. I like my pigmented lip products to be long-lasting and not easy to smudge which is exactly the opposite of what these are.

Leave a Reply

