REVIEW: Benefit Rockateur Blush

IMG_3399Benefit Rockateur Blush/Powder – $28

The newest addition to the Benefit Boxed Powder line, Rockateur, pretty much took over the world by…. what’s the word? I can’t remember. Force? Storm? It’s something like that and I’m very bad at these silly phrases in the English language, to be honest with you.

IMG_3402

In 2013, rose gold became this huge and number one thing in the makeup world. Sure, emerald or whatever was the Pantone Colour of the Year, but who cares about emerald when you’ve actually got rose gold thrown in your face 24/7?

When this first came out, I really liked the look of it. I liked the outside packaging, the way the product itself was designed, and how swatches came out in photos when I looked up the reviews. Even though I was interested in it, I wasn’t so interested in it that I was rushing to go and buy it, so I just had it on my Christmas wish list and ended up getting it for Christmas!

IMG_3414

THE GOOD: The packaging looks amazing. The blush in the pan looks amazing. It looks amazing swatched. If you’re really fair, this could be an amazing blush and/or highlighter for you.

THE OKAY: Eh, I’m about, what I would guess, NW20~ in MAC terms and this blush doesn’t look so noticeable on me even when I really pack it on. I’ve used both the Real Techniques Duo-Fiber Contour Brush and the Multitask Brush from the same brand and even with a much more dense brush like the Multitask, I didn’t see a lot on my face. In pictures, you just can’t see it. I’m not very dark at all, not even what you would call tan, and it seems to be just a subtle highlighter on me.

THE BAD: Have you seen how much product this box contains and what the price is? All the boxed powders that are not Rockateur are .25-.28 oz and $28 while Rockateur is .17 oz and retails for the same exact price. You are getting much less product but you’re still paying almost $30 after tax. This stunt reminds me of MAC repackaging their pigments so there was less product and they were charging the same price, and when NARS repackaged their stick concealer and gave 50% less product for the same price. I honestly do not care if they “used different and more expensive material” than the other powders. It’s just… it’s a lot less product for the same price and it doesn’t seem fair to me.

IMG_3438

Honestly, I’m not sure what my final thoughts are on this and I don’t think I ever will even though I’ve worn this enough times and I should have been able to come up with an opinion by now. I don’t loathe it, but I’m not completely in love with it. What I do know is that if I were to ever run out of this, I would not get another one of these.

RELATED QUESTION: Do you own this blush? Do you like it or dislike it? Or are you in the middle like I am?

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Benefit Rockateur Blush

  1. Looks like a “MLBB” blush for you, for the no-makeup makeup look days :) Gives you a healthy glow. I was looking for a blush like that. The Chanel Espiegle (ROTW version) looked similar but the SA said it was too light for me, NC20 complexion, so I left it. Instead, I bought the RMK Mix Colors for Cheeks 04 Coral Beige from Strawberrynet. I think it is similar to Espiegle but more pigmented.

Leave a Reply

